Arid Varsity 22nd Convocation: 4,439 Degrees while 38 students awarded with Gold Medals

A total of 4439 degrees awarded to the students of undergraduates, graduates, MPhil and PhDs scholars at the 22nd convocation 2020 of the Pir Mehr Ali Shah Arid Agriculture University, Rawalpindi (PMAS AAUR), here on Wednesday.

Minister for Higher Education (Punjab) & PITB Raja Yassir Humanyun Sarfraz was chief guest while President Pakistan Academy of Sciences and Former Vice-Chancellor of PMAS-AAUR, Prof. Dr Khalid Mahmood Khan (SI), was guest of honor. PMAS-AAUR Vice Chancellor Prof. Dr. Qmar-uz-Zaman, University Registrar Mr. Aqeel Sultan and Controller Examination Mr. Shahbaz Ahmad, along with deans, Directors, faculty members, students and their parents were also present on the occasion.

During the ceremony 37 students received PhD degrees, 1893 were awarded M.Phil/masters degrees, while 2509 students got undergraduate degrees in their respective disciplines.

Gold medals were awarded to 38 students on their outstanding performance in their academic record while 22 bagged silver and 18 secured bronze medals in the convocation. Two sponsored Gold medal were also awarded by Bank of Punjab.

While addressing, Minister Raja Yassir Humanyun Sarfraz congratulated all the graduate students, especially those who have got distinctions throughout their course of study and said that the fulfillment of the educated workforce required for economic and social development of the country should be among the explicit objectives of every educational concern.

Minister said that the contemporary age demands education based on science and technology, but we must add the blend of socio-cultural aspects while imparting knowledge that evokes respect for one's culture, geography, history and national heritage.

He said that we should provide education inspiring the spirit of nationalism in future generations and the government is working hard to provide quality and skill-based education to all.

Explaining the need for quality education, he said that our Alma Maters should not only be able to deter students intended abroad for quality education, but also develop themselves as destinations of educational excellence to attract foreign students thereby, boosting up the national economy.

He advised the students that they should not end their hard work and effort here but should make it more stable in their life which would not only brighten the name of Pakistan but also make the country prosperous.

Earlier, during his address, Vice-Chancellor Prof. Dr Qamar-uz-Zaman read out a message from the Chancellor for the students to congratulate them for successfully completing & achieving their degrees.

Prof. Dr Qamar-uz-Zaman, in his welcome address said that Arid Agriculture University made substantial efforts to improve academic and research activities along with enhancement of financial resources as the University has been awarded several development projects by provincial and federal governments amounting to Rs. 5 billion. While highlighting the university's efforts towards quality education, faculty and students career-building he said that the University successfully organized over a hundred International & National Workshops/Seminars/Conferences and Webinars and HEC allowed admissions to 28 more programs.

Vice Chancellor stressed on the academia industry relations and said that the strong link between academia and industry is the backbone of any country's development for which the university has taken exemplary steps by organizing farmer's fairs etc.

He also congratulated all the staff of the university and students for the successful completion of 25 years of quality education and academic excellence.

PhDs Degree Awardees.

Muhammad Faisal Khan (Horticulture), Aliya Tariq (Plant Pathology), Saman Chughtai (Horticulture), Umara Qadeer (Agronomy), Adeel Khan (PBG), Zafar Iqbal (Entomology), Muhammad Mazhar Qayyum (Horticulture), Riffat Ayesha (Horticulture), Rafiq Ahmad (PBG), Muhammad Ahsan (Plant Pathology), Rab Nawaz (Horticulture), Sohail (Botany), Muhammad Qayash (Zoology), Muhammad Ejaz (Botany), Bilal Javed (Botany), Roomina Mazhar (Botany), Ruqqya Naz (Zoology), Madiha Khalid (Biochemistry), Faryal Kabir (Biochemistry), Muhammad Asad Anwar (Biochemistry), Abdul Sami (Biochemistry), Muhammad Wahab Yasir (Environmental Sciences), Anwar Ali (F&RM), Tariq Mahmood (F&RM), Naureen Mustafa (Wildlife Management), Hira Fatima (Wildlife Management), Ume Habiba (Wildlife Management), Zafar Iqbal (CS), Sajid Latif (CS), Muhammad Kaleem (FT), Kouser Majeed Malik (Soil Science), Tayyba Kanwal Choudhary (Soil Science), Muhammad Raashid (Economics), Aabida Lateef (Education), Farah Rahman (Education), Saba Wali Lone (Education), Shumaila Khurshid (Education)

Gold Medalists

Taimoor Khalid (B.Sc. Hons. Agriculture PBG), Sidra Rameen (M.Sc. Hons. Agriculture Agronomy), Ayesha Shams (M.Sc. Hons. Agriculture PBG), Atika Ehsan (M.Sc. Botany), Saima Nasreen (M.Sc. Biology), Maria Amjad (M.Sc. Zoology), Rabia (M.Sc. Mathematics), Qurat-Ul-Ain (M.Phil. Botany), Saba Shaheen (BS Economics), Shumaila Nawaz (M.Sc. Economics), Imran Ali (M.Sc. Criminology), Afshan Qayyum (M.Sc. Mathematics), Muhammad Salman Arshad (DVM), Muzamil Hussain (BS Forestry), Zainab Haroon (B.Sc. Agri. Engr.), Rida Ali (BS Biochemistry), Aqsa Jabeen

(BS Microbiology), Imra Zia (B.Sc. Honors HND), Amna Shahid (BS Geo-Informatics), Muhammad Sufyan (BBA Honors), Mahnoor Hanif (MBA), Muhammad Zeeshan Hanif (BSCS), Fida Muhammad (BSIT), Tehmeena Zafar (BSCS), Sayyam Abbasi (BSIT), Hajra Qurban (MCS), Sumbal Shahid (BBA Honors), Tabish Tashfeen (BSIT), Maira Munir (BBA Honors), Haseeba Fatima (BSCS), Sumera (M.Sc. Mathematics), Mubbera Sahar (BSCS), Muhammad Shahbaz (BSIT), Swaira Mahmood (M.Sc. Mathematics), Anees Shahbaz (BBA Honors), Saira Ali (BSCS), Hamza Sajid (BSIT), Asfand Khan (BSCS).

Bank of Punjab Sponsored Medalist

Taimoor Khalid (BSC Hons Agri. PBG), Muhammad Zeeshan Haneef (BSCS)

Silver Medalists

Sara Khan (B.Sc. Hons. Agriculture Soil Science), Khalida Ahmed (BS Economics), Bisma Shahbaz (BS Forestry), Faiza Tariq (BS Biochemistry), Natasha Noor (BS Microbiology), Javeria Munawar (B.Sc. Honors HND), Nazia Parveen (BS Geo- Informatics), Tahseen Ullah Khan (BBA Honors), Maria Akhtar (BSCS), Afras Ahmad Khan (BSIT), Ijaz Ali (BSCS), Syeda Alvisha Ali (BSIT), Syeda Manal Raza Kazmi (BBA Honors), Shahid Mehmood Awan (BSCS), Raheel Ahmed Feroze (BSIT), Mariam Latif (BBA Honors), Muhammad Israr Akram (BSCS), Areeba Noreen (BSIT), Aimen Nadeem (BBA Honors), Qasim Nawaz (BSCS), Tayyab Ashfaq (BSIT), Abdul Wahid Lak (BSCS)

Bronze Medalists

Faria Mumtaz (B.Sc. Hons.) Agricultural Economics), Aurang Zeb (BS Economics), Muhammad Ali Hassan (DVM), Sania Khan (BS Forestry), Sabahat Ali (BS Biochemistry), Hifza Munir (BS Microbiology), Shazmina Hassan (B.Sc. Honors HND), Saman Mahnoor Bushra (BS Geo-Informatiocs), Mawra Hussain (BBA Honors), Saif Ali (BSCS), Aniza Batool (BSCS), Sobia Shehzadi (BSIT), Arooj Azam (BBA Honors), Ume-Aiman (BBA Honors), Muhammad Ans (BSCS), Afaq Ali (BBA Honors), Afrasiyab Haider (BSIT), Nouman Ahmed Awan (BSCS)